Happy Valentines Day!

I know I’m posting this at midnight, but it was an ok day for me. I was going to buy chocolate fortune cookies for Valentine’s Day. Last year, I was able to find them at Wal-Mart, for about $5 for a box of 6 chocolate fortune cookies. I know, expensive right? But I liked that they were so different. Chocolate fortune cookies, that came in a little red Chinese take-out style box, and it just looked cool. It was really unique, so I bought 3 or 4 I think. This year, I went to Wal-Mart Sunday to buy them, but they didn’t have it. I looked as much as I could, but I couldn’t find it. Either they discontinued selling them at Wal-Mart, or it wasn’t in this particular store. It might also be due to the fact that they were still in the process of upgrading the old Wal-Mart, to a Wal-Mart Supercenter, and that a portion of the building was still open to buy stuff. So maybe they’re in the process of reorganizing and all, and nobody ordered a shipment on those. Whatever it is, it made me angry. Those were the only things I wanted to buy, because everything else looked to common and similiar. I’m kind of picky in what I choose, because I prefer to hand out more unique and extravagant gifts, than something cheap, or with low quality. It’s like buying a product, are you going to constantly buy something that falls apart, or just pay for one ultimate price for something of high quality? I would pick the latter. Anyways, they didn’t have them so I checked Target. It was almost 9 at night, and they were about to close, so I quikly scanned the Valentine area, and no luck. Nada. I haven’t had any luck in going to another store before Valentine’s Day, because nobody can drive me anywhere + I fall asleep during that time, so I had nothing to give on V-Day. It made me feel kind of guilty. I know if there’s one way to get people to like you, it’s to give them something nice. Yeah, people sincerely like me, but I want to make sure it stays that way, by showing them what a great friend I am. I know gifts don’t mean anything, but I like to do that. It makes me feel that I’m doing something good by giving, and I’d rather take friendship more than goods. It just gives me a fuzzy feeling when I give things to people. Well, I had nothing to give, so I felt guilty. But during 4th period, I found a friend of mine recieved those exact same fortune cookies that I told you about, and I was astonished. Dumbfounded. I can’t believe somebody got to them before me. A few guys in my class saw it too and were interested. I like to be the first in everything (like PS3 and Wii owners) and kind of show-off. But when somebody beats you to the punch, it makes you feel angry with yourself. Why didn’t I search harder or earlier? Why didn’t I buy them online 2 weeks before V-day? Whatever it is, I got pretty riled up that somebody beat me to it, and if people were interested in what he had to offer, it would look like he was the trend-setter. And since most people here are from Cook, and not Dean, nobody knew I had done this before last year. Anyways, Robbi received the gift from his girlfriend Megan, and he doesn’t know where she got it. Rats. She beat me. A girl beat me. Oh well. Anyways Robbi gave me on, and I was ok with it. He wanted me to share it with Eric though, because he asked for one too, and Robbi wanted to keep the remaining few he had left. I offered to buy the whole cookie and the whole box, but he refused. So I negotiated with Eric to give him a Chewy bar in return for keeping the whole cookie. He accepted. Well next year, 2008, I’m going to plan early, and save some cash so I can really outdo people, and might be able to give fortune cookies to as much people as I can. That way, I look like the top dog. But we all lose some and win some, so I’ll eventually get over it. I also recieved a little box of Nerds from this girl in English, and a cupcake from this other girl in English. That was nice. I just wish I had something to give back to them. This whole thing made me feel as lousy as the whole Christmas candy thing, from one of my previous posts. You know, the one where I dished out on some fancy filled dark chocolate candies, only to figure out that most people don’t even like dark chocolate? I never had a particular thing for them either, but they looked interesting and seasonal, so I bought them, only to find out the sad truth. Oh well. Anyways this Valentine’s season has taught me a lesson, and I’ll be sure to follow for it next year. Oh and here’s the link to the company’s website for the fortune cookies I was telling you about : http://www.emilyschocolates.com/store/detail.aspx?ID=126
 
So that’s about it. On the side note, I got an A on my Geometry test! That’s it.
Leave a Reply

