A nice weekend here

It was a nice weekend. Yesterday, I went to the movies. I saw Nancy Drew and the Fantastic Four : Rise of the Silver Surfer. Here’s how it went:

Nancy Drew (2 1/2 stars)  – Sadly, it didn’t meet my expectations. It was a good movie, but it didn’t stick to the way Nancy Drew was in the books. I’m an avid reader of Nancy Drew and Hardy Boys books (plus lots of other mystery series). They portrayed Nancy completely wrong. They made her look like a 50’s style, old-fashioned girl, with brownish with blond highlights hair, a perfectionist, and overly kind person. That’s not how she is in the books. Nancy Drew did start out like in the 30’s or 50’s, but she’s changed throughout the years. She’s changed in the 70’s, the 80’s, the 90’s, even the 21st century, she’s changed to be cooler. She hasn’t always been the way she was in the original books. She had titian blonde hair in the first books. In the recent books, she has reddish-blonde hair. She isn’t a perfectionist. She’s good as some things (like solving mysteries), but not at everything. And she seems to be kind of a pushover in the movie, and way too kind to others. In the latest books, the Nancy Drew I know, would actually spill some anger out if she’s mad. Plus there’s tons of other mistakes. Like Nancy’s age would be around 18, and Ned’s suppose to be a college football player. Ned in the movie does not fit that description. Bess and George are definitely not the same as in the movie. In fact, Nancy Drew just leaves her hometown, moves to California, and then returns back to River Heights when her father doesn’t think it was a good idea. That and tons of other scenes in the movie are completely unrealistic. California kids are dressy, hip, and just snobby in the movie. Maybe they are, but I doubt it. It was a good movie, if you aren’t familiar with Nancy Drew, but it hits the books the wrong way, and I can’t really like it. There’s tons of books they could have based the movie on, but this was just sad. I do like Emma Roberts however. 🙂

Fantastic Four : Rise of the Silver Surfer (4 stars) – I loved it. It was very exciting to me. I loved the thrill and the suspense in it. I also liked the effects they did. As usual, it looked so real. I especially liked scene involving clips of some of the world’s icons being twisted. Like snow on the Egypt pyramids. Gigantic hole on the Thames River. Stuff like that. It was also pretty funny in many spots. It’s just something you have to see to believe. I don’t know what else to say, without going into specifics, but I definitely recommend to watch it. It’s very good. You would love it.

Then after the movies, we had to go to a restaurant to celebrate Father’s Day. Just some Chinese restaurant in Southwest Chinatown. Right after the movies, I was already hungry. By the time we got there, I felt really bad. I could barely eat a thing. All the smells (Chinese buffets really have pungent odors), the noise, and everything made me so nauseous. I looked at the stuff, and I wasn’t that satisfied. I don’t like Chinese much, and they did have some American food, but I just couldn’t eat it. Most of what I saw was seafood (absolutely hate it), and fried food (on an empty stomach, it would kill you). So I tried to look for wheats, like bread or something. They barely had it. The closest was some type of roll. It was like the only thing I could eat (about 2), a little fried rice, and 1 French Fry. My parents went somewhere else, while my sister, her boyfriend, my bro, and I went to my sister’s boyfriend’s apartment. We stopped to get a DVD (I didn’t want to pick any), and ice cream (Went to Baskin Robbins, and I got some rainbow sherbet – it was delicious!). We had some fun, and I saw World of Warcraft for the first time (I’m still not a fan of it, but I admit, it is interesting), AT&T U-verse (absolutely amazing. based on IPTV, the thing of the future, which beats any other provider), and some other cool things. Then we went home. Oh, and at the restaurant, we gave my dad a greeting card and a gift card (Home Depot, the card even had a tape measure inside it!).

Today, was Father’s Day of course. We went to my grandparent’s house for lunch. It was ok. I just ate some eggrolls, and played Monopoly for awhile with my cousins. I also ate a roast beef sandwich too. Plus some delicious chocolate cake from La Madeline. It was ok there. Then we went home, and basically did nothing interesting. So that’s about it. That’s how the day weekend went.

Leave a Reply

